Curse…

In this very first day-off of this week another round of old TV series revision commenced. "The West Wing Season II" was the course to start with, again, always, I have to say. My favorite part is the last episode of the season: "Two Cathedrals". At the very end of the funeral for Mrs. Landingham, President Bartlet’s secretary, even an elder sister who kept accompanying and giving him countless valuable advice in his life from being a high school student to governor and to president, died in an unexpected traffic accident after she bought her first new car in a automobile agency, President Bartlet just stay in the very church where just held the service, staring at the altar, and began to speak to God in Latin, a language which is supposed to be heard in formal Roman Catholic services. As my friend Sebastian said, Latin’s vocabulary is rich in sex and cursing. President Bartlet is known as a faithful catholic, astonishingly cursed God. Here are the quotes:

"Gratias tibi ago"
"Haec credam a deo pio? A deo iusto, a deo scito? Cruciatus in crucem. Tuus in terra servus, nuntius fui. Officium perfeci. Cruciatus in crucem. Eas in crucem."

I made efforts to get the meaning of the quotes by consulting my uncle and other senior members in my family, who happened to get Catholic education in 1920’s. Here are the translated version:

"I give thanks to you, O Lord."

"Am I really to believe that these are that acts of a loving God? A just God? A wise God? To hell with your punishments. I was your servant here on Earth. And I spread your word and I did your work. To hell with your punishments. To hell with you."

They’re really aggressive, or even blasphemous words.

Actually this is never supposed to be seen in a Catholic’s blog like mine. When the first time I saw the scenario, I felt released after little bit shock, to President Bartlet himself, of course, by experiencing so much unpredictable tricks events from both friends and foes. Every one has proper rights to ask why. Why all of these messes are suppose to happen upon me? President Bartlet just picked an extreme way; complain directly to Creator, the Almighty Lord.

I’m not sure whether I have the same courage to do so, though I’m suffering from a similar tough situation of my life, too. Maybe the Satan’s coworkers in my mind are trying their best to persuade me to do so or even turn against to the light. I’m no saint, and I haven’t met any saints. Definitely even my father, a faithful, has doubted the providence upon him at least once or twice in his past rough 52 years. However, he knows they are just childish tears, and God knows about it, too. Very likely this is another grace, Creator lets us release a little bit when the cross is too heavy to us. After weeping, life goes on.

The final part of the episode perhaps gives a perfect example of how to stand up and move on again. It was a stormy night. President Bartlet saw Mrs. Landingham in his oval office before he went to the press conference for confessing to the public about disguise his medical conditions to all fellows American, and to decide whether he’s going to seek the re-election. The storm blowed the office door opened. He knew well that she was no ghost, just her image in his him. The conversation went as follow:

President Bartlet: Damn it! Mrs. Landingham!

Mrs. Landingham: Really wish you wouldn’t shout, Mr. President.

P: The door keeps blowing open.

M:Yes, but there’s an intercom, and you could use it to call me at my desk.

P: I was…

M: You don’t know how to use it.

P: It’s not that I don’t know how to use it. It’s just that I haven’t learned yet. I have MS, and I didn’t tell anybody.

M: Yeah. So you’re having a little bit of a day.

P: You gonna make jokes?

M: God doesn’t make cars crash and you know it. Stop using me as an excuse.

P: The party’s not gonna want me to run.

M: The party will come back. You’ll get them back.

P: I got a secret for you, Mrs. Landingham. I’ve never been the most popular guy in the Democratic Party.

M: I’ve got a secret for you, Mr. President. Your father was a prick who never got over the fact that he wasn’t as smart as his brothers. Are you in a tough spot? Yes. Do I feel sorry for you? I do not. Why? Because there are people way worse off than you.

P: Give me numbers.

M: I don’t know numbers. You give them to me.

P: How about a child born in this minute has a one-in-five chance in being born into poverty.

M: How many Americans lack health insurance?

P: Forty-four million.

M: What’s the number one cause of death for black men under 35?

P: Homicide.

M: How many Americans are behind bars?

P: Three million.

M: How many Americans are addicts?

P: Five million.

M: And one in five kids in poverty?

P: That’s 13 million American children. Three and a half million kids go to schools that are literally falling apart. We need 127 billion in school construction and we need it today.

M: To say nothing of 53 people trapped in an embassy.

P: Yes.

M: You know, if you don’t want to run again, I respect that. But if you don’t run because you think it’s gonna be too hard or you think you’re gonna lose, well God, Jed, I don’t even wanna know you.

See, curse may make us feel comfortable, while it’s just the very step for us to move on.

About thomaszhu

"In the designs of Providence. There are no mere coincidences."
This entry was posted in 心情涂鸦篇 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 条 Curse… 的回复

  1. Sebastian说道:

    Courage under Pressure is the ultimate gift from our beloved God, and of course, the only weapon we could use to turn against the Almighty. So i’d call our ancestor Expellee Adam a courageous man instead of a Sinner.
    Definitely we are sinners, we are born guilty. It’s also understandable why God expelled man and woman from the paradise and still favored them, although we keep making mistakes even offences. We are magnificant creatures, and we are bound to go further.

发表评论

