When You Are Old…

      不经意间的闲逛,却在友人处发现了这首诗,顿生喜爱,遂贴到此处与众分享……
 

When You Are Old

 

When you are old and gray and full of sleep,

And nodding by the fire, taking down this book,

And slowly read, and dream of the soft look,

Your eyes had once, and of their shadows deep;

 

How many loved your moments of glad grace,

And loved your beauty with love false or true,

But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you,

And loved the sorrows of your changing face;

 

And bending down beside the glowing bars,

Murmur, a little sadly, how love fled,

And paced upon the mountains overhead,

And hid his face amid crowd of stars.

 

当你老了,白发苍苍,睡思昏沉,

在炉火旁打盹,请取下这部诗歌,

慢慢读,回想你过去眼神的柔和,

回想它们过去的浓重的阴影;

         

多少人爱你年轻欢畅的时候,

出于假意或真心的爱慕你的美貌,

只有一个人爱你那朝圣者的灵魂,

爱你老去的容颜中的痛苦的皱纹;

 

躬身在红光闪耀的炉火旁,

凄然地低语, 爱为何消逝,

在头顶的山上,缓缓地踱着步子,

将脸隐没在群星之中。

 

      这首诗的作者是William Butler Yeats 叶芝(1865-1939),是一位爱尔兰诗人。早年曾参加爱尔兰独立运动,但后来脱离政治运动,专心致力于文学创作。
  叶芝在1923年获得诺贝尔文学奖,是一位对现代诗歌具有重大影响的诗人。他在1889年遇见女演员、爱尔兰独立运动战士Maud Gonne,并爱上她。他曾多次向她求婚,但均遭拒绝,但他终生爱慕着她,为她写了许多诗。
   《当你老了》就是其中一首。诗里没有华丽的辞藻,没有甜蜜的柔情,甚至听不到一句爱的誓言。诗人用略带悲哀的语调,诉说着不可挽回的爱情。
  他悲哀,因为心中的爱人辩不出真伪,而当她能分辨出来的时候,他们都已老去,天各一方,鸳梦难圆。

About thomaszhu

"In the designs of Providence. There are no mere coincidences."
此条目发表在拾人牙慧篇分类目录,贴了标签。将固定链接加入收藏夹。

7 Responses to When You Are Old…

  1. 大居士说道:

    Alexander Pope, unfortunately, is not a pope himself, but a poet mainly know to the British men and women, not excepting Yeats, I’m sure. For otherwise, he’d be referred to as Pope Alexander, right? I do admire your un-merchant-like innocence when it comes to matters of letters. Or possibly you can be the next Pope Innocent. Sebastian Wu was converted to the Church of the Holy Mother one year ago or so. And before you told me about your belief, I had come to the conclusion that you must be a son of God, by your favourite quote in the space member profile. Is this a "mere coincidence"? Is the vernacular Chinese translation yours? It sounds serenely sad. [I just love alliterations!] We do not have many Catholics in China. Some of my acquaintance are Protestants, who always are eager to force me to abandon my own faith. I feel amused by them. Desperately amused!

  2. chris说道:

    我决定了今天来你家喝咖啡

  3. 大居士说道:

    朱兄今天總算不必“咖啡獨自煮”了,鈔票也有人伴你數咯。這可是七夕啊。哈哈。你的旺鋪我早看到鏈接了,點了n下,木反應,作罷,待會兒再試試咯。最好你有賣金條,我比較感興趣保值的珠寶哦。至於藏密一系的問題,昨天在大筠網上看到,因爲頭疼,早睡,每來得及回復,謙甚。我認爲那是異端,是因爲他們的言行悖謬於佛祖滅度前留給後人判斷教義真僞的“三法印”:諸行無常,諸法無我,涅槃寂靜。他們認爲不必修心,只要通過某种儀式就可以現身成佛。所以我說他們是異端,其實民囯時候,藏密又開始向漢傳佛教地區傳播,當時很多高僧都指出他們那些茹毛飲血、採陰補陽的做法簡直是妖術。呵呵。我這話説了肯定有很多人不開心的呢。我親戚中就有信這個的,還是團市委有頭有臉的人物呢。慚愧啊,慚愧。

  4. 大居士说道:

    又被你老兄嘲笑。我还没定稿,你就先评论。惭愧,惭愧。字体的问题是我不好,以为人人都会把IE的显示字体调到“maximum”的。:)

  5. Aileen说道:

    啊,前一阵子,我把Yeats的《苇间风》看完了。我觉得《被偷走的孩子》不错。虽然,他很棒,但我更喜欢Tagore的诗。因为我觉得泰的诗包含了更多……(我知道你不认识我,我也不认识你,只是进来看看,这里也很不错哟!)

  6. 说道:

    看到这首诗很想哭,我看过一个更好的译文版本.谢谢你把它的原版贴出来.

  7. Zhaofeng Thomas说道:

    同是天涯沦落人,相逢何必曾相识?无他,喜欢就好。

发表评论

